Tygers Of Pan Tang -

Tygers Of Pan Tang Biography

Hard Rock - Great Britain

Tygers Of Pan Tang discography

Tygers Of Pan Tang biography

This hard rock band was formed in Whitley Bay, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England, in 1978, as part of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal. The line-up originally comprised Jess Cox (b. England; vocals), Robb Weir (guitar), Richard "Rocky" Laws (bass) and Brian "Big' Dick (drums). Their debut EP was the first rock release on Newcastle's Neat label, and it quickly topped all the metal charts. On the back of their first flush of success, they moved to MCA Records. However, after one album, 1980"s Wild Cat , Cox departed to be replaced by Jon Deverill (b. Cardiff, Wales; vocals, ex-Persian Risk), and additional member John Sykes (b. 29 July 1959, Reading, Berkshire, England; guitar) was recruited. The new look line-up recorded the superior Spellbound (1981) and Crazy Nights (1982), but Sykes left following the release of the latter (he would later play with both Thin Lizzy and Whitesnake) and was replaced by former Penetration guitarist Fred Purser. The Cage (1982) broke the band in the USA, before two years of disputes with MCA effectively scuppered their career and they broke up.

Deverill and Dick recruited new members Steve Lamb (guitar), Neil Sheppard (guitar) and David Donaldson (bass) to record 1985's The Wreck-Age. Former members Cox and Weir formed Tyger Tyger the following year in order to try to recapture the original band's past glories. Meanwhile, Deverill, Dick and Lamb carried on recording as Tygers Of Pan Tang into the late 80s before finally pulling the plug.

Weir and Cox reunited in 1999 to play a live set at the Wacken Festival, with Glen Howes (guitar), Gavin Gray (bass) and Chris Percy (drums) helping out. A new line-up led by Weir and featuring Tony Liddell (vocals), Dean Robertson (guitar), Brian West (bass) and Craig Ellis (drums) recorded a new studio album in 2001. Another forgettable album followed in 2003 with new vocalist Richie Wicks, who in turn was replaced by Jacopo Meille.